You Are Here: Home - NEWS - RNDP Wins 35 Out of 44 Seats in Arakan State

Sittwe: The Rakhine National Development Party, or RNDP, has won 35 seats across Arakan State, from a total of 44 candidates that represented the party in the election, reports a party source.

Dr. Aye Maung, the president of the RNDP, said that his party won 35 seats in three parliamentary bodies - the National Parliament, Pyi Daung Su, and the State Parliament - in nine townships in Arakan State.

He said, "Our party won seven seats in the National Parliament, nine seats in the Pyi Daung Su Parliament, 18 seats in the Arakan State Parliament, and one seat in the Rangoon Division for the minority seat. Even though the union commission has not yet announced the results of the vote, the township commission publicized RNDP's victory in the 35 seats."

The RNDP won all parliamentary seats in nine townships - Rathidaung, Sittwe, Ponna Kyunt, Kyauk Taw, Mrauk U, Pauk Taw, Minbya, Mray Bon, and Kyauk Pru.

"Our party was defeated by the USDP for parliamentary seats in three townships - Man Aung, Buthidaung, and Rambree - where the USDP is expected to win," he said.

According to the Election Commission report, Arakan State has 12 National Parliament seats, 17 Pyi Daung Su Parliament seats, and 34 seats for the Arakan State Parliament. There were 2,824 polling booths and over 1,769,000 voters in the election in the state.

The military government-backed USDP also won some seats in Arakan, including in Maungdaw, Buthidaung, Rambree, Ann, Taungup, Manaung, and Thandwe Townships.
Tags: NEWS
Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...
Blogger Widgets